The Future of International Business:
Equality, Sustainability and Technology

Deakin University, Melbourne
15 – 17 February 2023



Call for Papers

Click here to download a pdf copy of the ANZIBA 2023 CfP Flyer


Conference Programme

Will be available in early February 2023

Awards & Prizes

Despite the relatively modest size of the ANZIBA conference (typically 80-100 people), we are proud of the fact there are three substantial prizes associated with our conference.   

    • The first is the ANZIBA Best Paper Award – selected from amongst all papers accepted to the competitive stream of the conference.     Link to past winners
    • The second is the Lawrence Welch Prize – Challenging the Status Quo – awarded to the best paper that challenges prevailing orthodoxy in IB. The selected paper may be purely theoretical or based on primary data; and will be selected from amongst the papers accepted to the competitive stream of the conference.     Link to past winners
    • The third is the Sid Gray Prize – The Most Promising Thesis Proposal  selected from amongst the proposals accepted for the doctoral colloquium.      Link to past winners

All three awards carry a AUD $1,000 prize, plus free registration at the conference in the subsequent year.

Submission Deadlines

Online Submissions Open:   Mon., 4 July 2022

Competitive Paper & Panel Submission Deadline (extended):  Mon., 26 September 2022 (extended deadline)

Doctoral Colloquium & PDW Submission Deadline:    Mon., 7 November 2022

All Acceptance Notifications by:   Mon., 21 November 2022


Registration Deadlines

Registration Open:   Mon., 21 November 2022

Registration Deadline for Presenters * :   Mon., 30 January 2023
(i.e. lead authors/organizers for all forms of submissions)

* if you have not registered by this date, your submission will be removed from the conference program.


Keynote Speaker


Rosalie L. Tung

Simon Fraser University

The keynote speaker will be Professor Rosalie Tung.  Professor Tung is the incoming JIBS Editor-in-Chief, and a Professor of International Business at Simon Fraser University where she holds the Ming and Stella Wong Chaired Professorship . She was formerly a Wisconsin Distinguished Professor, Business Administration, with the University of Wisconsin System. Besides teaching in Canada and the U.S., she has held visiting professorships in Australia, China, Denmark, Hong Kong, Japan, New Zealand and South Korea. Rosalie has served as the 2017–2020 Dean of the Fellows, Academy of International Business; the 2015–2016 President of the Academy of International Business; and the 2003–2004 President of the Academy of Management. She has been inducted as a Fellow of the Royal Society of Canada (founded in 1882) and has been elected as a Fellow of the Academy of Management, a Fellow of the Academy of International Business, a Fellow of the British Academy of Management, and a Fellow of the International Academy for Intercultural Research. In 2021, Dr. Tung was awarded the John H. Dunning Academy of International Business President’s Award. In the same year, Rosalie was recipient of the 2021 Academy of Management, International Management Division Eminent Scholar Award. In addition, she won the 2019 Academy of Management Distinguished Service Award and the 2020 Academy of Management, International Management Division Outstanding Service to the Global Community Award. Rosalie is the author or editor of eleven books and many refereed articles. She has served as an Area Editor of JIBS (2008–2010), Senior Editor of Journal of World Business (1999–2007), and EIC of Cross Cultural & Strategic Management (2015–2019). In addition, she sits on the editorial boards of many other academic journals. Dr. Tung has lectured widely at leading universities throughout the world and is active in the internationalization efforts of business schools worldwide.



Local Organising Committee

The conference will be formally hosted by Deakin University (Melbourne), with Dr Jane Menzies and Alfred Presbitero as the Conference Co-Chair.