Conferences and Events





Conference theme: Internationalisation, International Entrepreneurship and the Emerging Markets


The Australia and New Zealand International Business Academy (ANZIBA) will hold its next annual conference on 15-17 February 2017 in Adelaide, Australia.

The conference will be hosted by the University of South Australia Business School.

The doctoral colloquium will be hosted by Flinders Business School, Flinders University and will be held on 15 February.

ANZIBA welcomes:

  • Competitive Papers: Suitable for paper at an advanced stage of development. Competitive Papers submitted for review should be up to 25 double-spaced (A4) pages in length, including references, figures and tables.

  • Workshop Papers: Suitable for work-in-progress papers, Workshop papers are shorter conference papers that should be 10-15 double-spaced (A4) pages in length, including, references, figures and tables.

  • Panel Proposals: Suitable for focussed panel sessions that are held during the conference. These highly specialized sessions explore a common theme. Panel proposals that address the conference theme are especially welcome.

  • Proposals from research students for participation in the Doctoral Colloquium.


All submissions will be subject to a double-blind review process.


  • Submissions Open: 1 July 2016

  • Submissions Close: 23 September 2016

  • Acceptance Notification: 25 November 2016

  • Doctoral Student Colloquium Submissions Close: 11 November 2016

  • Early bird registration deadline: 1 January 2017


How to submit

Email your submission to

A copy of the Call for Papers can be downloaded here.

Competitive Papers and Workshop Papers

All paper submissions must include a title page stating:

  • The track for submission (number and title)
  • Competitive or Workshop Paper
  • Title of the Paper
  • Name of author, institutional affiliation and email address.

The second page of the submission should include the title and an abstract not exceeding 200 words, followed by the body of the paper.

Submissions should be double-spaced, referenced and formatted in accordance with the JIBS Style Guide.

Panel Proposals

Panel proposals must be submitted by the panel chair and include:

  • A title page that includes the names and contact information for all participants and identifies their roles.
  • An abstract, not to exceed 150-200 words, that summarizes the panel.
  • An Overview Statement of the theme of the panel.
  • A 1-to-3-page description of the session format (e.g., paper presentations, roundtable, professional development workshop), with paper synopses where appropriate.
  • Emails or signed letters from each participant, indicating s/he will participate if the panel is accepted.
  • Panel proposals should be not more than 3,000 words inclusive of all materials.
  • Each proposal must state, on its front page at the top right, the requested Track (number and title) and session format
  • Submissions must be double-spaced with a font size of 11 points or larger.



1. International Human Resource Management & Global Mobility

  • Dr Dan Wang, Monash University (
  • Dr Yoshio Yanadori (University of South Australia) (

2. MNEs & their Subsidiaries

  • Professor Axele Giroud, University of Manchester (
  • Dr Andrew Cavanagh, Monash University (

3. International Entrepreneurship

  • Associate Professor Vassiliki Bamiatzi, University of Leeds (
  • Dr Maureen Benson-Rea, University of Auckland (

4. Networks, Alliances & Inter-firm Relations

  • Professor Simone Guercini, University of Florence (
  • Dr Christopher Medlin, University of Adelaide (

5. International Marketing and Internationalization

  • Associate Professor Richard Lee, University of South Australia (
  • Dr Sally Rao-Hill, University of Adelaide (

6. Teaching IB & Cross-cultural Studies

  • Dr Joanna Crossman, University of South Australia (
  • Dr Mei Lim, University of South Australia (

7. International Economics, Finance & Accounting

  • Associate Professor Konstantinos Bozos, University of Leeds (
  • Dr Kartick Gupta, University of South Australia (

8. Global Strategy & Logistics

  • Dr Paul Kalfadellis, Monash University (
  • Dr Vikram Bhakoo, University of Melbourne (

9. Culture, Language, Gender, Diversity & IB

  • Professor Snejina Michailova, University of Auckland (
  • Dr. Andre Pekertiv, University of Queensland (

10. Emerging Markets: Latecomer Firms, Institutions, Organizations & Markets

  • Professor Jean-Paul Lemaire (ESCP, Europe) (
  • Dr Helen Hu, University of Melbourne (

11. Global Business Leadership

  • Dr. Chad Chiu, University of South Australia (
  • Dr. Shuang Ren, Deakin University (

12. International Business and the Legal Environment

  • Dr Ping Xiong, University of South Australia (
  • Dr Mia Rahim, University of South Australia (

13. Research Methodology

  • Associate Professor Catherine Welch, University of Sydney (
  • Associate Professor Eric Milliot, University of Poitiers (

14. Chinese Outward Foreign Direct Investment from Emerging Markets/Economies

  • Dr. Charlie Huang, RMIT (
  • Associate Professor, David Fan (

15. Chinese Track (Mandarin)

  • Professor Ying Zhu, University of South Australia (ying
  • Prof Jiang Qijun, Shanghai Ocean University (


REGISTRATION FEES – included in your registration fee is the Conference Dinner and Welcome Reception.

  • Standard Rate - Early Bird: $490

  • Standard Rate - Regular: $590

  • Student Rate - Early Bird: $190

  • Student Rate - Regular: $290


  • Additional Conference Dinner Guest $110pp

  • Additional Welcome Reception Guest $40pp


Practical information about the conference can be downloaded here.

Some Images from the 2015 Conference...


Join the ANZIBA PhD Network

As well as becoming members, PhD students have the option of networking with their peers.

Read More Register

ANZIBA was established with the aim of providing opportunities for international business scholars to engage with each other more effectively at the local level, to communicate their research findings and encourage research collaboration, to share knowledge of new teaching methods, resources and programs, and to support the development of doctoral

Prof. Sid Gray

Founding and
Executive Committee